Meet Darcy Whyte

Today we would like to introduce you to an extremely talented individual, Darcy Whyte. Darcy is a software developer and multidisciplinary artist.

He is exploring immersive and interactive art and works with electronics and CNC fabrication techniques. He is known for projects such as Squirrel. It’s a unique rubber band powered airplane sold all over the world.

0W7UnC8XfH5fJvZoQaJVpg1Kh1bihwKdNV-q6WROwoM

From its beginnings in Darcy’s software methodology its distinct aerodynamic features allows the plane to fly hundreds of feet and be built easily by people new to model aviation. An interesting upcycle project is Zen Giider. Zen is a tiny glider that flies in an air disturbance created by your hands! It’s amazing efficiency and gentle slow flight comes from its paper-thin foam construction. It also steals design elements from Mother Nature (biomimicry). It’s similar to the alsomitra flying vine seed (zanonia) which flies from its pod to a new faraway home.

Tell us a little something about yourself?

I spent my childhood in Saskatchewan and had a technical career in software for a few years. About 12 years ago when I left my marriage I started lots of new things (choir, ballroom dancing and much more). I eventually found a lot of happiness in making things so here I am. My real focus is on solving problems though. Making “things” is just a means to an end. I do everything from making robots that draw portraits to cutting up leftover material into business cards… This new lifestyle has been very social and I’ve really loved meeting new friends to collaborate with!

fj_6rZw5y5Fvu-RTSFjQ1F844ysOqnb-qA7l4XJRzoo,r_EHgfd3jl8qrriIlAhZgtgFInlFXnP8PEgIOtt2xXI

What was the inspiration to start your business?

I got into business organically rather than planning it. I enjoy solving problems so as I experimented some of my projects received more attention. Things just evolved from there.

How do you motivate yourself to keep the business up and running?

I find it genuinely fun and exciting. The more projects I work on the more people I work with and the deeper I get into it. A better question might be how to get out but frankly I can’t visualize that.

Also I find vinyl and CD (the main materials in this project) to be very beautiful. They have structural color (color without pigment) and other cool surprises like strength and light weight. Also as I go through the different batches of rescued material I feel like an urban archaeologist. These items tell me things about the past.

WLp9ZaqscKir0XNCdcl8G8CIEPbv4M6v-7NrvGD-7k8

How long have you been in business?

The up-cycle jewellery is just months old. I’ve got some other projects that are five or six years old and even older.

What types of items do you sell?

The up-cycle jewellery business is just at its beginning. I’m really enjoying it and am all ears for ideas to explore. What would you make?

zZaibFbg2ulNFPH3f9uFv_MOxCdKUfugBNzTMfKdhzk

What about your business makes you most proud?

I am proud that this business is very local and has a great emphasis on recovering materials that could have been in landfill.

What do you do in your spare time?

Spare time? This is my spare time. I am into Salsa dancing, electronics and many other things as you can see at my inventorArtist site.

sM2yJDjNsQ6GVHg5nkyY9E8zsN6gRJ9VOx39F5R_axQ

If someone was interested in starting their own business, what would be a few things you would suggest?

Every business idea is different but here are a few ideas. Try and do some of your work in a communal space. Share your idea widely. Find early adopters of your product or service and work with your new customers.

What is your go to fashion staple?

This is all very new to me. I’m still learning! I’m still using google as a source!

-d3TEDIBOmNrDaIOI51yMsxHkGFdlxhIoCyzPgsN7qU

Darcy recently met Kerri Roy who is giving him design ideas and is working on bringing the jewellery up-cycle project to trade shows. They’re both very excited about this new sales channel! Check out Kerri on Twitter. For more information the Web site is rewindVinyl.com, which will be up in the next month or so.

Clfwp9eDVco-x9BmbzPtClc56m-20gU8qZWfYnkk1Kg,V4YwkkYut6Sb_oNBWqwWSlIe8qRuFhagDsBfh0jyYTQ

Check out Darcy on:

Web: http://inventorartist.com/

Shop his creations

How it’s made

Twitter: @inventor_Artist

Youtube Drone Video

XO,

-Country meet City

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Meet Darcy Whyte

Leave a Reply

